America's Cup Hall of Fame

The America's Cup Hall of Fame honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to yachting's most distinguished competition.

The America's Cup Hall of Fame was founded in 1992 under the auspices of the Herreshoff Marine Museum by Halsey Herreshoff, a four-time America's Cup defender and grandson of legendary yacht designer Nathanael Herreshoff.

Over ninety legends of the Cup have been inducted into the Hall. Candidates eligible for consideration include members of the crew, designers, builders, syndicate leaders, supporters, chroniclers, and other individuals of merit. Each nominee is judged on the basis of outstanding ability, international recognition, character, performance, and contributions to the sport. The members of the Selection Committee are persons intimate with the history and traditions of America's Cup and committed to the integrity of the Hall of Fame.

The museum of the Hall of Fame is located on the grounds of the former Herreshoff Manufacturing Company of Bristol, Rhode Island, where yachts were built for eight consecutive America's Cup defenses between 1893 and 1934. Its collection include plaques honoring the inductees; half-hull models of challengers and defenders; artifacts including spars, steering wheels, and tank test model hulls; and special exhibits about the America's Cup.

Upcoming Hall of Fame Events:

Golden Age of the Mighty J-Class

June 13, 2024 6:00 pm

America's Cup Hall of Fame Selection Committee

R. Steven Tsuchiya, Chairman

Margherita Bottini

John S. Burnham

Brad Butterworth

William Collier

William H. Dyer Jones

Richard Gladwell

Jack Griffin

Halsey Herreshoff

Tim Jeffery

Gary Jobson

Andrew Johns

Murray Jones

John Lammerts van Bueren

Ken McAlpine

Elizabeth Meyer

Shirley Robertson

Blue Robinson

Hamish Ross

Mike Toppa

Bruno Troublé

Tom Whidden

Explore the ACHoF

From Inductee bios, to past winners, and the latest Induction news

Click Here for a detailed record

of America's Cup Matches


These are the individuals whose character, performance, and contributions have earned them the honor of induction into the America's Cup Hall of Fame.


This database sponsored by the late Edward I. du Moulin contains comprehensive information on participants in all America's Cup races to date. (Photo by Russ Kramer)


Note: The yacht AMERICA won the Royal Yacht Squadron ₤100 Cup on August 22nd, 1851. Her surviving owners presented the Cup to the New York Yacht Club in 1857 under the condition that it serves as a perpetual challenge prize for international yacht racing. The Cup was subsequently renamed after the first winning yacht, AMERICA.

Click Here for a detailed record of America's Cup Matches